Discussion Best Standard Deck without Tapu Lele GX

Stebolo93

Aspiring Trainer
Hey guys, i'm new in this game, and i'd like to start playing Standard post rotation, but it seems that every deck run 2/3 x Tapu lele GX and they are too expensive for me!
i know that is hard (if not impossible) to replace them, so i'm asking if there are competitive decks, that after rotation will not need Leles !
I'm new and i've seen very few decks, so maybe you can help me!

Is volcanion ex the best competitive standard deck without leles?

thanks to you all! :D

Pokemaster26

Aspiring Trainer
Advanced Member
For sure Volcanion ex. To my knowledge it is the only tier 1 deck that can run without Tapu Lele gx

HouchinsDJ

Aspiring Trainer
Volcanion EX and Greninja Break are both good decks to run if you're looking for a competitive deck with no Tapu Lele.

Although it's not a great replacement, you could try running a few Random Receiver. It's an item card from Fates Collide that allows you to draw cards until you get a Supporter, put that Supporter in your hand, and shuffle the rest of the cards back in the deck. It has it's downsides, but it might be worth trying until you can get your hands on some Lele!

Stebolo93

Aspiring Trainer
Thanks! :) i read that greninja break lose a lot without dive ball! Maybe it will be tier 2-3, while volcanion still tier 1 right? What are the extensive cards in volcanion ex decks?

HouchinsDJ

Aspiring Trainer
Thanks! :) i read that greninja break lose a lot without dive ball! Maybe it will be tier 2-3, while volcanion still tier 1 right? What are the extensive cards in volcanion ex decks?

Losing Dive Ball definitely hurts Greninja, but you can replace the Dive Ball with Evosoda since it basically does the same thing. It's hard to tell how Greninja will fare post-rotation so we'll just have to wait and see. Volcanion would be your best bet if you're looking for a deck that's proven going into the new rotation.